The Ballinamuck Visitor Centre, formerly the historic Royal Irish Constabulary barracks, is located in the picturesque village of Ballinamuck, North County Longford. Built in 1846, the barracks originally had two towers which were destroyed and burned by the IRA in June 1920, during the War of Independence. It was due to the continuous insurrection and revolutionary nature of the people of North Longford that the barracks was erected in the first instance. In 1948 the building was restored as a memorial hall, but without the two towers, and in July 1999 it was officially opened by President Mary McAlesse.
The centre houses a fascinating and lively exhibition which details the famous Battle of Ballinamuck which took place in 1798. This battle marked the ending of the 1798 Rising of the Irish against the British. It was in Ballinamuck that the combined French and Irish armies were defeated by the British forces under the command of General Cornwallis. The French contingent was led by General Humbert of Saint Nabord. After the battle was lost, and Humbert surrendered, the French survivors were sent home but the Irish survivors were hunted down and mercilessly executed in a spot called ‘Bullys Acre’ in nearby Ballinalee village.